5th Annual 2010 Industrial Manufacturer's Appreciation Luncheon

Large Business of the Year

Teskey's Saddle Shop & Boutique
Michael & Anissa Teskey

Large Business of the Year

T. G. Mercer
George & Amy Mercer

Small Business of the Year

Phillips Welding Supply
Eric & Nancy Anderson & Phil Hoy
Corey Tucker, Vice President
Plains Capital Bank
Presented by Peggy Hutton,
Weatherford Chamber of Commerce 
Terry Clower
Terry Clover, PhD.
UNT Center for Economic
Development and Research
Dr. Steve Wood
Dr. Steve Wood
Chairman of the Board
Weatherford Chamber of Commerce
The Weatherford Economic Development Authority, Inc. and the Weatherford Chamber of Commerce co-hosted the 5th Annual Industrial/Manufacturer Appreciation Luncheon on February 26, 2010 at the Doss Heritage & Culture Center with 100 attendees.

The lunch and program were provided through generous community sponsors including; Main Event Sponsors – First National Bank and Southwest Ford, Mitsubishi & Suzuki; Program Sponsors – PlainsCapital Bank; Snow, Garrett & Company, CPA’s; Jerry Durant Auto Group; First Financial Bank; Ft. Worth Community Credit Union; and Stewart, Brooks & Bates, CPA’s; Event Sponsors – Century 21–Judge Fite Real Estate, Ashley Conlon; Fairfield Inn & Suites Weatherford; Hooks Lincoln-Mercury; Weatherford Electric; WEDA and Weatherford Chamber of Commerce.

The annual event continues the 5th annual recognition of the Industrial /Manufacturer “BUSINESS OF THE YEAR” in 3 employment size categories (Large: Teskey’s Saddle Shop & Boutiques; Mid-Size: T.G. Mercer, Inc.; and Small: Phillip’s Welding Supply) for their outstanding growth achievement, community involvement, unique product innovation / marketing and outstanding employment practices. The awards were presented by Waymon Hamilton, President of the Board, Weatherford Economic Development Authority, Inc. and Dr. Steve Wood, Chairman of the Board, Weatherford Chamber of Commerce.

In addition to the three “BUSINESS OF THE YEAR” awards, the Business Retention and Expansion, “BRE VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR” was also acknowledged. Corey Tucker, Vice President of PlainsCapital Bank was awarded a plaque for his outstanding efforts to retain and recognize existing businesses through monthly visits by volunteers to our existing industrial/manufacturing and commercial businesses.

The BRE (Business Retention and Expansion) committee meets monthly and routinely visits existing businesses to express appreciation and to recognize them for being the foundation of the Weatherford economy.

The Keynote Speaker of the event was Terry L. Clower, PhD. Director, UNT Center for Economic Development & Research, University of North Texas, Denton, and was introduced by Dennis Clayton, Executive Director of the Weatherford Economic Development Authority, Inc.

Dr. Steve Wood, Chairman of the Board, Weatherfor Chamber of Commerce was Emcee for the day.